Advice from a young TED speaker: Start a TED-Ed Club at your school

TED Blog

“We kids still dream about perfection. And that's a good thing, because in order to make anything a reality, you have to dream about it first,” said Adora Svitak on the TED stage in 2010, when she was 12. She’s now a TED-Ed intern, and wishes she’d had TED-Ed Clubs when she was high school to help her share ideas with her peers. Photo: James Duncan Davidson/TED “We kids still dream about perfection. That’s a good thing, because in order to make anything a reality, you have to dream about it first,” said Adora Svitak on the TED stage in 2010, when she was 12. She’s now a TED-Ed intern, and wishes she’d had TED-Ed Clubs in high school to help her bat around ideas. Photo: James Duncan Davidson/TED

If you watch my TED Talk from 2010, you might see a confident 12-year-old, cracking jokes and striding around the stage in glasses that keep sliding down her nose. You won’t see me going home and crying, or starting every page in my journal with four words: “I feel sad today.”

I divided my life into two parts: my tear-stained journal versus my well-practiced speeches. A space to be vulnerable with others, for the larger purpose of sharing ideas? I didn’t have that in my high school.

When I…

View original post 700 more words

Leave a Reply

